When I Left… 

When I left home, I

Left poetry in your hands

I left words for you

To grapple with, and

Inhale back in with

Regrets

I left you with summersaults and

Rosemary leaves picked and 

Dried, I left right there

On the table, the family recipe 

That always brought love back 

To your kitchen, did I

Also leave, I guess I did

A pack of cigarettes hidden

In your not so hidden spots

I think I left you contented,

Fulfilled to what I

Could offer you of myself

But when I left home,

I left you 

With a little less of me

And a lot less of you

One thought on “When I Left… 

Leave a Reply

