WITHIN THE VOIDS

I’m not as simple as your mornings turn out to be

Not as orderly placed at all the desired places

Or shining gay faces

As you find your essentials while running late for office

Honey, I unwind and uncurl;

I swirl and hop and fly

I let the leaves fall and never ask why

I seem perfectly imperfect as I slip into my sweats

And put my legs on the coffee table with my hair tied in a bun

As I circle the surface of my coffee cup with my fingertips

And hum the tunes that roomed within my head for long

This is where I belong

I’m a constant of your life

A wife within the void that separates your two worlds

I’m the same woman you leave

And the one you come back to

And everything that lies between your day and night

Is what I call breathing.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

